asebozombie.blogg.se

The witches roald dahl audiobook
The witches roald dahl audiobook











the witches roald dahl audiobook
  1. The witches roald dahl audiobook update#
  2. The witches roald dahl audiobook skin#

The Witches begins when our unnamed young narrator, newly orphaned, goes to live with his grandmother in Norway. My, what fun! It’s wonderful to know that even those of Dahl’s novels that aren’t steeped in childhood memories can delight. While browsing audiobooks at my library a few weeks ago, I came across a recording of The Witches and decided to try it out. But there are a few I missed, somehow one of these was The Witches. I remember reading others of Dahl’s novels as a child: The BFG, Matilda, Esio Trot. I realized that Dahl’s fantastic tales are just as fun now that I’m an adult as they were when I was a kid. Listening to the stories took me back to my childhood, to hours spent listening to those same stories while surrounded by family. Roald Dahl brings his own stories to life the way Neil Gaiman does his: perfectly.Ī few years ago for Christmas, I received my own copy of the Roald Dahl Audio Collection, now on CD. I remember the farmers’ determination and the foxes’ triumph. I can clearly recall Dahl’s voice describing Boggis, Bunce, and Bean, the disgusting trio of farmers who serve as the tale’s villains. Fox, which we listened to again and again, rewinding the tape each time. But no story is clearer in my mind than Fantastic Mr. I remember listening to Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, James and the Giant Peach, The Enormous Crocodile, and The Magic Finger as a kid. The Roald Dahl Audio Collection includes abridgements of five of Dahl’s beloved stories, read by the author himself. I’ll also add some thoughts on one of Dahl’s novels I missed as a child and only just read. In honor of our family gathering, I’d like to share with you a set of tapes we loved as kids. It’s the first time my parents and all four siblings have been together since Christmas 2009.

the witches roald dahl audiobook

IT GETS GOOD AGAIN! We could finish the rest of the book without a whiny witch and I have to say, I did like the job of the reader other than that hard-to-listen to chapter.Happy Thanksgiving to my American readers! Today I am home with my family. After that terrible chapter, I was worried about how the rest of the book would be and I am happy to report that. That particular chapter was so bad that I could only grasp 30-40 percent of what the Grand High Witch was saying, My daughter, who this audiobook was for, could probably only pick out 5-10 percent.maybe. I almost didn't want to listen to the rest of the audibook. Then the chapterk took a tumble and it's a large one for me. or was I? The book was rather pleasing and well done up until Chapter 7 where we hear the Grand High Witch. After hearing the really nice sample that included sound effects, voice-changes, etc, I thought such a reviewer could just be overally sensitive.

The witches roald dahl audiobook update#

UPDATE 10/22 Before getting the book, I checked out other reviews and saw some negative ones about the Grand High Witch's voice. I really wish I could give this book a higher rating.

the witches roald dahl audiobook

This book should have come with a WARNING on the front cover. Getting to the end was touch and go several times! Unfortunately, without knowing if Miranda Richardson is going to use her pleasant voice or her screeching voice, we will never buy a book she narrates again. The story itself was fabulous, and the only reason we finished the book.which was no easy feat.

The witches roald dahl audiobook skin#

Besides the skin crawling voice and the inaudible performance, the sound would go from so loud your head throbbed, to so low, you had to stop a rewind a few times before you could figure out what was said. Did anyone at the publisher listen to this before releasing it for sale? I would be shocked if that were the case. Besides making our ears bleed, we could understand about every third word of the High Witch. Her voice is so shrill that nails scratching on a chalk board is much more comforting. Do NOT listen to this book in the car, as the voice of the High Witch will make you want to drive straight into a wall.













The witches roald dahl audiobook